MTAP Caucus

Welcome to the Congressional Military Transition Assistance Pathway (MTAP) Caucus!

Mission Statement

The MTAP Caucus is a bipartisan coalition of Representatives dedicated to supporting and advocating on behalf of military servicemembers returning to civilian life, advancing policies that improve services and resources provided to transitioning servicemembers, addressing gaps of care when a servicemember transitions, and honoring the service of our nation’s military retirees and their families

MTAP Caucus Principles

The Caucus will work to advance the following principles:

  • Representing the interests of transitioning Servicemembers in Congress;

  • Advancing policies and legislative actions that will prepare our servicemembers for success in civilian life and continued service as they prepared to do so in defending our nation;

  • Protecting and supporting our servicemembers when they come home so that they may have access to the physical and mental healthcare as well as the education and employment services they have earned;

  • Addressing and solving gaps in service of care as servicemembers transition into civilian life, including the unique barriers women servicemembers face;

  • Recognizing that supporting our servicemembers means supporting and caring for their families as well;

  • Incorporating and addressing the needs of the Guard and Reserve forces in transition assistance policy

  • Seeking to clarify the various policies and TAP-related statutes administered by multiple agencies and how the program can be improved, reformed, and streamlined;

  • Highlighting the extraordinary services and programs veteran service organizations provide to transitioning servicemembers and veterans;

  • Ensuring that all transitioning servicemembers and veterans are aware of the services and resources available to them after concluding their military service.


Rep. Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr. (co-chair)

Rep. Jack Bergman (co-chair)

Rep. Jim Banks

Rep. Anthony Brown

Rep. Julia Brownley

Rep. Ruben Gallego

Rep. Jared Golden

Rep. Chrissy Houlahan

Rep. Trent Kelly

Rep. Andy Kim

Rep. Mike Levin

Rep. Brian Mast

Rep. Seth Moulton

Rep. Jimmy Panetta

Rep. Scott Peters

Rep. John Rutherford

Rep. Elissa Slotkin

Rep. Greg Steube

Rep. Steve Stivers

Rep. Michael Waltz

Rep. Ted Lieu

Rep. Gus Bilirakis

For more information about the MTAP Caucus, please contact Yuvaraj Sivalingam, at, or Howard Ou, at, in Rep. Cisneros’ office, or  in Rep. Bergman’s office.